Stone Mountain election qualifying ends, mayor not seeking reelection

  • Home
  • All
  • Stone Mountain election qualifying ends, mayor not seeking reelection

City of Stone Mountain seal on the historic railroad depot. Photo by Dean Hesse.

By Dan Whisenhunt

The qualifying period for the Nov. 2 elections in Stone Mountain has ended, and the city’s long-serving mayor, Patricia Wheeler, has decided not to seek reelection.

Also, it appears that her would-be challenger, Darryl B. Gresham Sr., didn’t qualify to run, according to the city’s website. Gresham said he intends to run as a write-in candidate.

Wheeler has been the mayor since the 1980s, losing reelection in 1997 only to win the office again in 2009, according to the Atlanta Journal Constitution.

Councilmember Jasmine Little also declined to seek reelection. All Stone Mountain candidates run at-large, meaning the entire city votes to fill each post. Here are the candidates who qualified for the Nov. 2 ballot:


– Beverly R. Jones

– Andrea Redmond

– Eileen W. Smith
Council Member – Post 4

– Gil Freeman

– Diana Roe Hollis – Incumbent

– Richard Mailman

– Michael Schaaphok
Council Member – Post 5

– Shawnette Bryant – Incumbent

– Shani Linder
Council Member – Post 6

– Teresa Crowe

– Ryan M. Smith

– Anthony Hernandez-Wallen

All of our Nov. 2 elections coverage can be found at

More information about the Nov. 2 municipal elections

The election will be Nov. 2. Early voting will begin on Oct. 12. The voter registration deadline for the upcoming city elections is Oct. 4. To register to vote, click here.

To see a list of important dates in the 2021 election year, click here.

To learn about qualifying for local elections in Tucker, Clarkston and Stone Mountain, click here.

Voters in DeKalb County are eligible to apply for an absentee ballot beginning today, Aug. 16. The county will hold municipal elections on Nov. 2, as well as a county-wide E-SPLOST vote for DeKalb County schools.

To apply for an absentee ballot:

— Visit the Georgia Secretary of State website:

—  Complete the absentee ballot application using the state’s official paper form or request an absentee ballot in writing. Use blue or black ink only.

Applications can be mailed to the county elections office and voter’s should use this address: DeKalb County Election office, 4380 Memorial Drive, Decatur, GA 30032-1239.

Applications can also be submitted through fax, 404-298-4038 or email,

Voters may send an absentee ballot request for multiple people who live in the same household in the same envelope or email.

If an absentee ballot is not mailed to you, contact your county’s elections office. You may still vote in person, either early or on Election Day.

An absentee ballot application must be received 11 days prior to the election, which is Oct. 22.

In accordance with SB202, a new voting bill signed by Governor Brian Kemp in March, a voter ID is required to apply for an absentee ballot. A Georgia driver’s license, Georgia voter card, U.S. military ID, employee ID issued by any branch of the federal or state government, U.S. Passport, tribal ID, or a document verifying a voter’s name and address – including a paycheck, utility bill, or bank statement – are accepted forms of ID.

Voters can obtain a free ID at the DeKalb County Elections office at 4380 Memorial Drive in Decatur or at the following locations:

– On Aug. 25 from 3-6 p.m. at Doraville Marta Station, 6000 New Peachtree Road, Doraville 30340.

— On Aug. 30 from 3-6 p.m. at Indian Creek Marta Station, 3901 Durham Park Road, Stone Mountain 30083.

— On Sept. 15 from 3-6 p.m. at Chamblee Marta Station, 5200 New Peachtree Road, Chamblee 303041.

— On Sept. 14 from 3-6 p.m. at Kensington Marta Station, 3505 Kensington Road, Decatur 30032.

Read the original story on