Fall 2019 elections: Here’s who will be on the ballot in DeKalb County

  • Home
  • All
  • Fall 2019 elections: Here’s who will be on the ballot in DeKalb County

Victoria Navarrete holds her son Michael Richardson, 2, as she casts a ballot at Robert Shaw Traditional Theme School in Georgia’s primary election in 2016. HYOSUB SHIN / HSHIN@AJC.COM

By J.D. Capelouto

Though 2019 is an off-year for major statewide and national elections, voters in cities across DeKalb County will head to the polls Nov. 5 to vote in important municipal elections.

Mayoral or city council seats are on the ballot in every city in the county. There will also be a countywide referendum over the plan to restructure the DeKalb County ethics board.

Here’s the breakdown of the candidates running for office in each city in DeKalb, according to the county elections board.

Avondale Estates

  • Mayor: Incumbent Mayor Jonathan Elmore is facing a challenge from former city manager Clai Brown.
  • City commissioner: Brian Fisher (incumbent), Marguerite Belline, Candace Jones and Dee Merriam

Photo: City of Brookhaven


  • Mayor: Mayor John Ernst is campaigning for a second term, and community activist Jennifer Heath is running against him.
  • City Council District 1: Linley Jones (incumbent) is running unopposed.
  • City Council District 2: Dimitrius Owens and Madeleine Norine Simmons. Sitting Councilman Bates Mattison recently announced he is not running for reelection.
  • Residents will also vote whether to approve a property tax homestead exemption for the city.


  • District 2: Leslie Robson (incumbent) and Shaun Lewis
  • District 3: Thomas Hogan (incumbent) and Karen Lupton
  • City Council, At Large: Darron Kusman (incumbent) and Stephen Watson
  • Chamblee residents will also vote whether to approve a property tax homestead exemption for the city.

Clarkston City Hall (Alyssa Pointer/alyssa.pointer@ajc.com)


  • Three council seats are up for grabs this year. Voters will choose three candidates from a field of six: Andrea Cervone (incumbent), Awet “Howard” Eyasu (incumbent), Darara Timotewos Gubo, Laura Hopkins, Debra Johnson and Samuel Rai


  • City commissioner, District 1, Post B: Erin Braden and George Dusenbury
  • City commissioner, District 2, Post B: Lesa Mayer, Chris Stirn and Phillip Wiedower
  • City commissioner, At Large: Tony Powers (incumbent) and Christopher Gagnon
  • Board of Education, District 1, Post B: James Herndon
  • Board of Education, District 2, Post B: Tasha Rose White (incumbent)
  • Board of Education, At Large (special election): Jana Johnson-Davis

Doraville City Hall (Photo: J.D. Capelouto/jdcapelouto@ajc.com)


  • Mayor: It’s a four-way race for mayor, with incumbent Mayor Donna Pittman facing challenges from three current or former members of City Council: Joseph Geierman, Tom Hart and MD Nasar.
  • City Council, District 1: Gerald Evans, Tom Owens and Andy Yeoman
  • City Council, District 2: Danielle Brown, Jessica Killingsworth and Rebekah Cohen Morris
  • City Council, District 3: Shannon Hillard (incumbent) and Maria Alexander
  • City Council District 2 (special election): Tammie Bailey and Chris Henshaw


  • Mayor: Current Mayor Denis Shortal announced earlier this year that he will not seek reelection. Two councilmembers, Lynn Deutsch and Terry Nall, are running to replace him.
  • City Council, At Large, Post 4: Stacey Harris and Robert Miller
  • City Council, At Large, Post 5: Joe Seconder and Heyward Wescott
  • City Council, At Large, Post 6: John Heneghan (incumbent)


  • Mayor: Yolanda Donaldson, Shameka Reynolds and Cindy Thomas
  • City Council (voters will choose 2): Darold Honore, Jr., David McCoy and Vanneriah Wynn

Pine Lake

  • Mayor: Melanie Hammet (incumbent)
  • City Council (voters will choose 2): Brandy Beavers and Tracey Brantley

The city of Stone Mountain emblem is displayed on a street sign in downtown Stone Mountain. (Photo: ALYSSA POINTER/ALYSSA.POINTER@AJC.COM)

Stone Mountain

  • City Council, Post 1: Richard Mailman (incumbent), Gina Stroud Cox, Richard Langley and Chancey Parker
  • City Council, Post 2: Bernie Waller (incumbent), Claus Friese and Clint Monroe
  • City Council, Post 3: Chakira Johnson (incumbent), Andrea Redmond


  • Mayor: Jason Lary is running for reelection as mayor of DeKalb County’s newest city, and will be on the ballot against Diane Adoma and Charles Hill, Jr. This race has already made headlines after Adoma argued she did not have to vacate her City Council post when she qualified to run for mayor. The city said it took out a temporary restraining order against her because she tried to continue serving as an elected official, despite a state law that said she had to step down.
  • City Council, Post 2: Rob Turner (incumbent)
  • City Council, Post 4: George Turner, Jr. (incumbent)


  • City Council, Post 2, District 1: Bill Rosenfeld (incumbent) and Christine Bloodworth
  • City Council, Post 2, District 2: Noelle Monferdini (incumbent)
  • City Council, Post 2, District 3: Anne Lerner (incumbent)

Read the originals story on AJC.com.