DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond Forms COVID-19 Task Force

  • Home
  • All
  • DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond Forms COVID-19 Task Force


Andrew Cauthen Sarah Page Quinn Hudson
Communications Manager Public Information Officer Chief Communications Officer
404-371-2806 (o) 404-371-2705 (o) 404-371-2813 (o)
470-553-4408 (c) 404-989-1386 (c) 470-522-8923 (c)

March 31, 2020

Revised Public Viewing Details
DeKalb CEO Michael Thurmond Forms COVID-19 Task Force
Task force driven by medical and scientific expertise

DECATUR, Ga.—DeKalb County CEO Michael Thurmond has formed a COVID-19 Strategic Task Force.

Driven by science and medical expertise, the task force will provide professional, technical and strategic counsel related to protecting the health, safety and economic well-being of DeKalb’s 750,000 residents.

Top medical experts will include David Ross, president and CEO of The Task Force for Global Health, and Dr. S. Elizabeth Ford, district director of the DeKalb Board of Health.

The task force will host its inaugural meeting via teleconference Wednesday, April 1, 2020, at 10 a.m.

“This pandemic is a fluid situation with no standard play book or set of rules,” CEO Thurmond said. “During this critical time in the life of our county, it is important to gather the best information and advice from experts to help us save lives and restart our economy.”

Members of this task force will include the Board of Commissioners Presiding Officer Steve Bradshaw and two commissioners, representatives of the DeKalb County School District, the DeKalb State House and Senate Delegations, DeKalb Municipal Association, DeKalb public safety leaders and economic development experts. Other members may include business and civic leaders, educational institutions, faith organizations, and human services professionals.

The task force is authorized by Executive Order 20-001 issued March 23, 2020, in response to the public health and economic emergency within DeKalb County due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Technical arrangements have been made to allow simultaneous public access to the teleconference meeting via live stream from the DCTV Ustream channel. To access the channel, visit and select the “DCTV’s Ustream Channel” menu option.

Members of the task force (still being assembled) include:

David Ross, The Task Force for Global Health

Dr. S. Elizabeth Ford, DeKalb County Board of Health

Board of Commissioners
Presiding Officer Steve Bradshaw

Two commissioners yet to be appointed

DeKalb County School District
Interim Superintendent Ramona Tyson

Chief Judge Asha Jackson, Superior Court

Public Safety
Public Safety Director Jack Lumpkin

Sheriff Melody Maddox
Chief Joseph Cox, DeKalb Emergency Management Agency

House Chairwoman Karla Drenner

Senate Chairman Emanuel Jones

Brookhaven Mayor John Ernst

Pine Lake Mayor Melanie Hammett

Ann Hanlon, Perimeter Community Improvement Districts

Emory Morsberger, Tucker Summit and Metro South Community Improvement Districts
Alan Goodman, Brookhaven Chamber of Commerce
Ken Coleman, DeKalb Chamber of Commerce
Dorian DeBarr, DeKalb County Development Authority

Human Services
Lamar Smith, Division of Family and Children Services

Jeff Parker, MARTA